Acquanetta Warren

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Acquanetta Warren earned a B.A. in Political Science and Urban Studies from Occidental College, and holds an Honorary Doctorate degree in Theology from Next Dimension Bible College. She has served as Mayor of Fontana since 2010, being re-elected in 2014 and 2018 [1]. She formerly served as Deputy Director of Public Works for the City of Upland, as Vice President of First Interstate Bank, and as councilmember of the City of Fontana for eight years [3]. She was awarded the Helen Putnam Award of Excellence in 2008 and 2019, the Health Champion Award for Southern California Elected Officials in 2017, and the California Health & Public Advocacy Health Champion Award in 2015 [1].

Warren has three children and three grandchildren, and is a member of Water of Life Community Church [1].

Key Issues

Public Safety

Warren proposed and received full Council approval to add 12 law enforcement positions in 2022, and to add eight new law enforcement positions each year subsequently [2].



Warren wants to work with local providers to expand access to mental health services [2].



Warren founded the Mayor’s Manufacturing Council, a forum committed to facilitating communication between local government and businesses, in pursuit of continued job growth. Warren also established Open for Business, a television show dedicated to showcasing Fontana’s local businesses [2]. 



Warren founded the Mayor’s Education Coalition, a network of local schools and educational organizations committed to preparing students for post-graduation job opportunities. Warren also established the “Healthy Fontana” community program, which promotes nutritional education and physically active lifestyle choices [2].


Warren supports implementing more stringent environmental regulations on the warehouse industry. However, Warren has been a long-time supporter of new warehouse construction, including near schools and residential areas [8, 9].  


Fontana Police Officers’ Association; San Bernardino County Professional Firefighters Local 935; San Bernardino Sheriff’s Employees’ Benefit Association; Rosilicie Bogh: California State Senator (SD:23); Thurston “Smitty” Smith: California Assemblymember (AD:33); James Ramos: California Assemblymember (AD:40); Josie Gonzales: Fmr. San Bernardino County Supervisor; Curt Hagman: Chairman, San Bernandino Supervisor; Dawn Rowe: San Bernardino Supervisor; Paul Cook: San Bernardino Supervisor; Jesse Armendarez: San Bernardino Supervisor Candidate; Peter Garcia: Fontana Mayor Pro Tem; John Roberts: Fontana Councilmember; Phillip Cothran: Fontana Councilmember; Germaine Keys: Fontana City Clerk; Janet Koehler Brooks: Fontana Treasurer; Joe Armendarez: Vice Chair, Fontana Unified School Board; Adam Perez: Fontana Unified School Board Member; Don English: Chaffey Union High School Board Member; Penny Lilburn: Highland Mayor; Paul Leon: Ontario Mayor; Dennis Michael: Rancho Cucamonga Mayor; Deborah Roberson: Rialto Mayor; Ed Scott: Rialto City Mayor Pro Tem; Andy Carrizales: Rialto City Councilmember; Bill Vieto: Upland Mayor; Angie Garcia: West Valley Water Board Member


1 City Website
2 Official Website
3 LinkedIn
4 Ballotpedia
5 Public Policy Institute of California
6 Twitter
7 Voters Edge
9 Fontana Herald News