Anna Thomasson

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Anna Thomasson graduated with a BA in psychology and business from the University of Oregon and an MBA in Finance at the University of Wisconsin Whitewater. Currently, she is the Vice Mayor of Paradise Valley Town Council since January 2022 and previously served as a Councilmember between 2019-2022. She was also a member of the Paradise Valley Board of Adjustment between 2018-2019 [2]. Previously, Thomasson spent 35 years consulting Fortune 500 companies before serving as a managing partner of global consultancies in Seattle, Portland, and Phoenix. Currently, she serves as a member of the Arizona State Bar Board of Governors, Arizona Supreme Court Judicial Court, and other committees and boards [1]. She is an Executive in Residence at the ASU W.P. Carey Business School and a member of the Franciscan Renewal Center [3].

Key Issues


Thomasson supports building new homes, remodeling old homes, and revitalizing resorts, like Smoketree and El Charro, in the next 4 years [9]. She also supports maintaining low-density, one-acre residential lots and managing short-term rentals [7]. Lastly, Thomasson believes in keeping the town’s semi-rural character [9] and open spaces without paving into the desert [1].

Public Safety

Thomasson supports using her experience as the Chair of the Advisory Committee on Public Safety to support the Paradise Valley Police Department [1]. She believes in working with the town council to improve public safety outreach services and resources [9]. Previously, Thomasson has worked on the police strategic plan to fund the police department and developed an article with public safety tips [7].


Thomasson supports advancing resident communication and involvement through technology, such as a weekly email newsletter and resident communication portal [1]. She supports working with the town council to improve town services, update the website [9], and encourage increased communication [11].


Thomasson is fiscally conservative and supports a limited government. She supports using her experience on the Financial Advisory Subcommittee to recommend investment and expenditure changes [7]. During her time as a councilmember [7], Thomasson has worked with the council to avoid an increase in EPCOR water rates, fund the police department, and secure debt financing [11].


Paradise Valley Mayors- Jerry Bien-Willner; Michael Collinn; Scott LeMarr; Vernon Parker; Ed Lowry

Paradise Valley Vice Mayors- Mary Hamway; Dave Sherf; Dan Schweiker; Jini Simpson; Scott Moore; Mark Stanton

Retired Police Chief John Wintersteen; Board of Adjustment Chair Hope Ozer; Planning Commission Chair Jim Rose; Former Planning Commission Chair Jon Wainwright; Former Planning Commission Chair Daran Wastchak; Former Planning Commission Chair Dolf Strom; Former Scottsdale Unified School District Board President Patty Beckman; Robyn Bien-Willner; George and Adrienne Bien-Willner; Ken and Margaret Barnes; Brad and Karen Barnett; Lou Baransky; Michael and Lori Carmel; Jo Casebolt; Rick and Sally Chamblis; Clay Coady; Jennifer Collins; Joe and Nancy Contadino; Barbara Cooper; Dan and Lynn Crowley; Rod and Kim Cullum; Mike and Wendy Cummiskey; Dale and Tia Danneman; Chris and Dianne Dean; Tim and Celesta Dickman; Kris Floor and Chris Brown; Arlene Friedman; Michael Freedley and Linde Harned; Tom Gates; Anne Marie Garvey; Kathy George; Peter and Rene Gertsman; Andy and Carol Gordon; Bill Hunter; Pat Hurley; Emily Kyle; Judy LeMarr; Frank and Trish Loffer; Patsy Lowry; Marianne Mallia; Wolfgang and Nancy Monthofer; Jay Ozer; Bill and Debbie Pain; Diane Rose; Sandra Scanlan; Shelley Salmon; Jeff Scott and Katarina Voss-Scott; Brian and Julie Schwalbe; Paul and Susan Stander; Barb Stanton; Mary Jane Trunzo; Melinda Wainwright; Beverly Westgaad; Elaine Wintersteen