Jennifer Campbell

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Jennifer Campbell graduated from the University of Pittsburgh Medical School in the 1970s. Campbell is a former family doctor and the former City Council President, Chair of the Environment Committee, Rules Committee Chair, COVID Response and Recovery Committee Co-Chair, Audit Committee Vice-Chair, and member of the following committees: Housing and Land Use, Budget, Active Transport and Infrastructure, and Economic Development and Intergovernmental Affairs. She’s also served on the following boards: SANDAG, Mission Trails Regional Park, and San Diego River Conservancy. 

The 2021 recall of City Council President Jennifer Campbell did not qualify. The recall was based upon the fact that she had not restricted vacation rentals or zoning laws at the same level as her campaign. Much of the recall was led by Campbell’s critics [6]. 

Key Issues


Campbell has previously announced a plan to create a new Conservatorship and Treatment Unit, expanded parking lots for citizens to live in their vehicles, reframed a homelessness plan around 5 key strategies, opened Golden Hall as a shelter for the homeless, reformed the Convention Center for homelessness during covid-19, and expanded the Family Reunification Program. Campbell has also previously worked to decrease Short Term Vacation Rentals by around 50% and joined with the Midway Community Planning Group [2].


Campbell has previously passed the Fiesta Island Master Plan Option B, voted to expand the Kendall-Frost Marsh Preserve, and introduced the Resolution Declaring a Climate Emergency. [2] She has also previously launched the San Diego Community Power. Campbell says that protecting air quality and climate is one of her top priorities. She wants to focus on finding a path to 100% renewable energy while saving citizens’ money [4].


Campbell supports vaccine requirements for San Diego’s frontline workers and public health guidelines.She is currently the co-chair of the San Diego Council COVID-19 Response and Recovery committee [2].

Law Enforcement

Campbell supports reinstating community policing, San Diego’s Office of Race & Equity, and more trained mental health clinicians. Campbell has previously required guns to have safe trigger locks and furthered the City Attorney’s use of red flag gun laws [2]. 


Campbell is currently working with Mayor Todd Gloria on the Build Better San Diego initiative to get infrastructure funding [4]. She led an ordinance that requires sidewalk vendors and pushcart operators to pay $38 annually to sell in San Diego [5]. Campbell supported a ballot measure that repealed the 30-foot height limit for buildings in the Midway District. Leaders in city government had hoped to lease and remake the 48 acres of land it owns around Pechanga Arena San Diego [6]. Campbell is supportive of the proposition, which she claims will “revitalize the Midway-Sports Arena Community” [3].


Senator Toni Atkins, California Senate President pro Tem; Todd Gloria, Mayor of San Diego; Nathan Fletcher; Chair, County Board of Supervisors; Representative Scott Peters, California’s 52nd Congressional District; Representative Sara Jacobs, California’s 53rd Congressional District; Representative Juan Vargas, California’s 51st Congressional District; Representative Mike Levin, California’s 49th Congressional District; Vice Chair Nora Vargas, County Board of Supervisors; Assemblymember Chris Ward, 78th District; Assemblymember Brian Maienschein, 77th District; Assemblymember Tasha Boerner-Horvath, 76th District; Assemblymember (former) Lorena Gonzalez; Joe LaCava, San Diego City Councilmember; Raul Campillo, San Diego City Councilmember; Marni von Wilpert, San Diego City Councilmember; Stephen Whitburn, San Diego City Councilmember; San Diego County Democratic Party; San Diego Labor Council; San Diego Police Officers Association; Southwest Regional Council of Carpenters; San Diego Municipal Employees Association; San Diego Laborers; San Diego Building Trades; LGBTQ Victory Fund; Downtown San Diego Partnership; San Diego Association of Realtors; San Diegans for Gun Violence Prevention; San Diego Chamber of Commerce; Equality California; San Diego Democrats for Equality; Clairemont Democratic Club; San Diego County Young Democrats; Jerry Sanders, Mayor of San Diego (ret.); Christine Kehoe, State Senator (ret.); Catherine Blakespear, Encinitas Mayor; Jennifer LeSar, San Diego Port Commissioner; Michael Zucchet, San Diego Port Commissioner; Rafael Castellanos, San Diego Port Commissioner; Mary Casillas Salas, Chula Vista Mayor; Steve Padilla, Chula Vista City Councilmember; Colin Parent, La Mesa City Councilmember; Joe Mosca, Encinitas City Councilmember; Gil Cabrera; Chair, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority


1 ​​Ballotpedia 
2 Dr. Jen Campbell 
3 City of San Diego Official Website 
4 San Diego Union Tribute 
5 Times of San Diego 
6 Times of San Diego Recall 
7 San Diego Union Tribune