Johnny Khamis

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Challenger


Johnny Khamis is a Lebanese-American candidate who arrived in San Jose in 1976 after leaving Lebanon with his family.  Khamis received his Bachelor’s in Business Management and Communications in 1991. He has served as Financial Advisor for Baraban Securities as well as been a member of the Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation, Santa Clara County Human Relations Commission, as well as chaired the Public Safety, Finance and Strategic Support Committee. Khamis has also been a member of the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Governance and Audit Committee, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board, and has chaired the Congestion Management Program & Planning Committee. He served as the San Jose District 10 Councilmember for 7 years, and is currently the Public Relations Consultant for the Santa Clara County Association of Realtors [4].

Key Issues


Khamis wants to build rehabilitation and mental health facilities for unhoused people. He wants to reunify families with members who may be living without homes. Khamis wants to create reintegration services such as skills training, job placement, and drug addiction programs and use them in jails. He also hopes to create a manager position for homelessness coordination. Khamis also wants to partner with faith-based organizations to help unhoused communities [1]. 


Khamis wants to work with other organizations to protect farm land. He wants to use tax money towards wildfire prevention and protection and hopes to increase solar panel usage in country buildings. He wants to continue to implement the County’s Climate Action Plan [1]. 


Khamis wants to increase bus and train routes. He wants to create environmentally sound and efficient modes of transportation [1].

Public Safety

Khamis wants to fund law enforcement officers more. He also wants to help released prisoners financially while also calling audits for formerly incarcerated people to oversee tax money spent on them [1].   


Khamis wants to increase the voice of business owners when creating laws for small business. He hopes to streamline the permitting process for small business owners [1].


The Mercury News; Silicon Valley Business Chamber; Associated Builders and Contractors Northern PAC; Friends of Reed Hillview PAC; California Apartment Association; Silicon Vally Taxpayers Association; Gilroy Chambers PAC; Santa Clara County Farm Bureau; Silicon Valley Chinese Association; Gilroy Police Officers’ Association; Citizens for Fiscal Responsibility; Mike Wasserman: Current District 1 Santa Clara County Supervisor; Sam Liccardo: Mayor San Jose; Chappie Jones: Vice Mayor San Jose and Councilmember District 1; Marie Blankley: Mayor Gilroy; Don Gage: Former: SCC Supervisor and former mayor Gilroy; Pete McHugh: Former Santa Clara County Supervisor; Jim Cunnen: Former California State Assembly Member; David Canepa: San Mateo County Supervisor; Steve Tate: Former Mayor Morgan Hill; Bob Foster: Former Mayor Morgan Hill; Ray Bunt: Former Mayor Morgan Hill’ Dev Davis: Councilmember San Jose: District 6; Pam Foley: Councilmember San Jose: District 9; Peter Leroe-Munoz: Councilmember Gilroy; Fred Tovar: Councilmember Gilroy; Dion Bracco: Councilmember Gilroy; Carol Marques: Councilmember Gilroy; Gino Borgioli: Councilmember Morgan Hill; John McKay: Councilmember Morgan Hill; Liz Lawler: Councilmember Monte Sereno; Mary Badame: Councilmember Los Gatos; Roland Velasco: Former Mayor Gilroy; Perry Woodward: Former Mayor Gilroy; Liang Chao: Councilmember Cupertino; Paul Resnikoff: Councilmember Campbell; Richard Tran: Mayor Milpitas; Carmen Montano: Vice Mayor Milpitas; Anthony Pham: Councilmember Milpitas; Tom Campbell: Former Congressman; Rose Herrera: Former Vice Mayor San Jose; Lan Diep Former San Jose CIty Council; Tam Nguyen: Former San Jose City Council; Cat Tucker: Former Gilroy City Councilmember; Laurie Barke: Former Mayor Morgan Hill; John Sorci: Former Mayor Morgan Hill; Marby Lee: Former Morgan Hill City Council; Marilyn Librers: Former Councilmember Morgan Hill; Barbara Spector: Former Mayor and Councilmember Los Gatos; Sandra Decker: Former Mayor Los Gatos; Jeannie Bruins: Former Mayor Los Altos; Steve Leonardis: Former Mayor Los Gatos; Norm Kline: Former Mayor Saratoga; John McAlister: Former Mayor Mountain View; Greg Lin Tanaka: Current Palo Alto City Council; Rowena Turner: Monte Sereno City Council; Joseph Di Salvo: Santa Clara County Board of Education Member; Grace Mah: Santa Clara County Board of Education Member; Michael Snyder: School Board Member Campbell Unified School District; Mark W. Good: President of Gilroy Unified School District Board of Education; Laura A. Perry: Gavilan College Trustee; John Pimentel: Trustee San Mateo Community College; Bryan Do: School Board Member Eastside Union High School District; Robert Varich: School Board Alternate: Campbell Union High School District; Michael Tsai: School Board Trustee Milpitas; Bonnie Mace: Former Evergreen School Board Member; Sherrean Carr: Former Dean of Career Education for Gavilan College; Terry Calderone: Retired Captain Santa Clara County Sheriff; Chief Scot Smithee: Former Gilroy Police Chief; Mark Eastus: Retired Captain Santa Clara County Sheriff; Eddie Garcia: Former Chief of San Jose Police; Bob Cooke: Retired Special Agent In Charge: CA Department of Justice; Pat McGrady: Retired Captain Santa Clara County Sheriff; David Knopf: Retired Assistant Chief of San Jose Police; Johnson Fong: Former Captain San Jose Police; Jason Ta: Former Captain San Jose Police; Kevin Jensen: Former Captain Santa Clara County Sheriff; Carlos G. Bolanos: San Mateo County Sheriff; Roy Sumisaki: Former Chief of Gilroy Police; John W. Laws: Retired Sergeant San Jose State University Police Departmen; Bryan Batey: Retired Sergeant Campbell Police Department; Patrick Dwyer: Police Chief: City of Palo Alto: Retired; Dave Tindall: Retired San Jose Acting Police Chief; Jose Salcedo: past President of the Santa Clara Deputy Sheriff’s Association; Carl Guardino; Matt Wendt; Mike Johnson; William Baron; Jeff Cristina; Victor Gomez; Todd Trekell; Eddie Truong; Tracey Enfantino; Dan Bozzuto; Steve Hanleigh; Michael Fox; Robert Chang; Tara Dang; Phil Dieter; Mark Waxman; Gino Fortino; Thomas Cline; Sal Caruso; Tony Mirenda; Hal Hendrickson; Lisa Faria; Mike Cox; Michelle Perry; Helen Chong; Bob Dando; Swanee Edwards; Dana Ditmore; Dick and Barb Jarvis; Bud LoMonaco; Ken Kelly; David Noel; Bobbi Atak; Hai Huynh; Helen Nong; Duy Nguyen; Jim Nguyen; Bob Vonderworth; Martin Groen; Ronald Kirkish; Chris Roth; Dhruv Khanna; Bill Hubka; Ann Ravel; Jim Kuhl; Jerry Strangis; Jonathan Fleming; Issa Ajlouny; Brian Quint; William H. Winter IV; Vipan Bhanot; Steven Pagan; Al Avecilla; Michael Schrader; Helen Wang; Marice Hsueh; Sunny Wagstaff; Lisa Faria; Chris Borello; Scott Raley; Adam Mi; Marc Green; Bruce Young; Ru Weerakoon; Kitty Monahan; Rich Crowley; Lilly Liang; Nubia Ramirez; Lynne H Brown PHD; Adnan Rasheed; Dan Connolly; Uday Kapoor; Steve Borkenhagen; Kairong Qian; Anthony Adair; Jesse Pawarl Rich Giammona; Eldon Nichols; Tara Dang; John Telfer; Tami and Dan Sell; Glenn Burkhardt’ Chuck Elliott; Janet Williams; Ninos Teranian; Sandy Adams; Robert Strain; Frank Deturris; Anthony Macias; Tom Scott; Phil Varni; Samir Totah; Tony Mirenda; Jim Eller; Richard Blume; Trung Lam; Jimmy Nguyen; Trung Ho; Huy Nguyen; Juan Kadah; Mohammed Abdel; Richard Zahner; Sam Arthur; Alphonse Odisho; Juliette Polussa-Odisho; Anna Stepanenko; Bob & Irene Shoeberg; C. Tucker; Dick & Bob Jarvisl Marilyn Rodgers; Ray & Maxine Lubow; Thomas Ebert; Ali Amidy; Patricia Bentson; John Salah; Samina Sundas; Denise Belisle; Arun Singh; Steve Brown; Burt Lancaster; Pat Waite; Greg Peck; John Hesler; Michele Dexter; John Hesler; Michelle Deocampo; Izzac Khao


1 Official Website

2 Instagram

3 Facebook 

4 LinkedIn

5 Ballotpedia