Katrina Foley

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Katrina Foley received a B.A. in English from UCLA and a J.D. from the Seattle University School of Law [7]. She was elected to the Orange County Board of Supervisors in a 2021 special election, representing District 2. She previously served on the Costa Mesa City Council for 14 years, as the first directly elected Mayor of Costa Mesa, and on the Newport Mesa Unified School District Board of Trustees. Foley is the President of the Foley Group, a which provides civil, business, and employment litigation services [4]. 
She previously served as Board Member for Travel Costa Mesa, Chair of the Coast Community College Measure M Oversight Committee, and as a Director on several regional boards including, the Orange County Women Lawyers Association, Orange County Head Start, Girl Scouts of Orange County, and the Toll Corridor Association. She has two college aged sons [2].

Key Issues


Foley previously created a workforce development apprentice program for formerly incarcerated youth and coordinated several small business roundtables [2]. 

Public Safety

Foley helped develop the Sober Living Home Action Plan, voted to keep Metro Fire Station 6, supported Police Chief efforts to increase staffing and reinitiate special units [2].


Foley helped develop the Orange County Climate Action Plan and supports transitioning to electric vehicles, eliminating the use of styrofoam, and implementing green building policies [2]. She wants to transition to clean energy resources and reduce energy costs for ratepayers. Foley recently launched the Fly Friendly airport noise and pollution reduction program and created an internal airport advisory team [6].


 Foley helped opened the Be Well Orange campus and partnered with Mayor Pro Tem Stephens, Newport Beach, and Jamboree Housing to build a homeless shelter and senior housing village [2].


Foley supports the Network for Homeless Solutions Taskforce and has worked to secure state and federal funding to build emergency shelters and permanent supportive housing. She supports clearing encampments from parks and flood channels [2]. 


Foley supports vaccines and mask wearing [3]. 

Reproductive Rights

Foley supports women’s reproductive rights [5].


Orange County Professional Firefighters Association; Orange County Labor Federation; Orange County Employees Association; Democratic Party of Orange County; Veterans Alliance of Orange County (VALOR); Sierra Club; Orange County League of Conservation Voters; Coast Federation of Teachers; Community Action Fund of Planned Parenthood of Orange and San Bernardino Counties; National Union of Healthcare Workers; LA/OC Building and Construction Trades Council; Operating Engineers Local 12; IBEW Local 441; Laborers Local 652; UA Plumbers Local 582; American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees Local 2076; Southwest Regional Council of Carpenters; Teamsters Joint Council 42; United Food & Commercial Workers Local 324; United Domestic Workers; UNITE HERE Local 11; Women for American Values and Ethics; Women in Leadership; Aliso Niguel Democratic Club; Canyon Democrats; Costa Mesa Democratic Club ; Democratic Women of South Orange County; Laguna Woods Democratic Club; Lavender Democrats of Orange County; Newport Beach Women’s Democratic Club; Orange County Young Democrats; Mike Levin, Congressmember; Alan Lowenthal, Congressmember; Katie Porter, Congressmember; Linda Sanchez, Congressmember; Harley Rouda (Ret.), Congressmember; Loretta Sanchez (Ret.), Congressmember; Dave Min, California State Senator; Josh Newman, California State Senator; California State Senator Tom Umberg; Tom Daly, California State Assembly Member; Cottie Petrie-Norris, California State Assembly Member; Doug Chaffee, Orange County Supervisor; Beckie Gomez, Orange County Board of Education Member; Jose F. Moreno, Anaheim City Councilmember; Avelino Valencia, Anaheim City Councilmember; Connor Traut, Bueno Park Mayor; Susan Sonne, Bueno Park Councilmember; John Stephens, Costa Mesa Mayor; Andrea Marr, Costa Mesa Mayor Pro Tem; Manuel Chavez, Costa Mesa City Council Member; Loren Gameros, Costa Mesa City Council Member; Jeff Harlan, Costa Mesa City Council Member; Arlis Reynolds, Costa Mesa City Council Member; Libby Cowan, Costa Mesa City Council Member (Ret.); Linda Dixon, Costa Mesa City Council Member (Ret.); Mary Hornbuckle, Costa Mesa City Council Member (Ret.); Francis Marquez, Cypress City Council Member; Michael Villar, Dana Point City Council Member; Glenn Grandis, Fountain Valley City Council Member; Diedre Thu-Ha Nugyen, Garden Grove City Council Member; Kim Nguyen, Garden Grove City Council Member; Kim Carr, Huntington Beach City Council Member; Dan Kalmick, Huntington Beach City Council Member; Natalie Moser, Huntington Beach City Council Member; Kieth Bohr, Huntington Beach Mayor (Ret.); Debbie Cook, Huntington Beach Mayor (Ret.); Jill Hardy, Huntington Beach Mayor (Ret.); Connie Boardman, Huntington Beach City Council Member (Ret.); Joe Shaw, Huntington Beach City Council Member (Ret.); Farrah Khan, Irvine Mayor; Larry Agran, Irvine City Council Member; Tammy Kim, Irvine City Council Member; Sukhee Kang, Irvine Mayor (Ret.); Beth Krom, Irvine Mayor (Ret.); Melissa Fox, Irvine City Council Member (Ret.); Marshall Goodman, La Palma City Council Member; Toni Iseman, Laguna Beach City Council Member; George Weiss, Laguna Beach City Council Member; Paul Freeman, Laguna Beach Mayor (Ret.); Chris Duncan, San Clemente Mayor Pro Tem; Vicente Sarmiento, Santa Ana Mayor; Thai Viet Phan, Santa Ana City Council Member; Joe Kalmick, Seal Beach City Mayor; Sergio Contreras, Westminster City Council Member (Ret.); Jim Moreno, Coast Community College District Trustee President; Dr. Lorraine Prinsky, Coast Community College District Trustee; Jerry Patterson, Coast Community College District Trustee; Walter Muneton, Garden Grove Unified School District Trustee; Diana Carey, Huntington Beach Unified School District Trustee; Carol Crane, Newport-Mesa Unified School District Trustee; Leah Ersoylu, Newport-Mesa Unified School Board Trustee; Gina Clayton-Tarvin, Ocean View Unified School District Trustee; Kris Erickson, Orange Unified School Board Trustee; John R. Hanna, Rancho Santiago Community College District Trustee; Sal Tinajero, Rancho Santiago Community College District Trustee; Jamison Power, Westminster School District Trustee; Ashleigh Aitken, Orange County Fair and Event Center Board Member; Art Perry, Costa Mesa Sanitary District Board Director; Michael Scheafer, Costa Mesa Sanitary District Board Director; Liz Parker, Orange Coast College Foundation Development and Outreach Specialist; Nathan Searles, Rossmoor Community Services Director


1 Ballotpedia

2 Campaign Website

3 Daily Pilot

4 OC Government

5 Twitter

6 Facebook

7 Linkedin