Maya Esparza

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Maya Esparza received her Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Anthropology from Mills College, and earned her Master of Public Administration (M.P.A.) from San Jose State University [3]. Esparza formerly served as board member of Franklin-McKinley School District, and as Commissioner of the Community Development Block Grant Commission for the City of San Jose. She is co-founder of Veterans Voices Santa Clara County, was the founding Board President of Latinas Contra Cancer, and led the All The Way Home campaign in pursuit of ending homelessness among veterans living in Santa Clara County. Esparza is the daughter of two teachers, and was raised in San Jose [1].

Key Issues


San Jose Firefighters Local 230; Santa Clara County Democratic Party; South Bay Labor Council; Santa Clara County Firefighters IAFF Local 1165; San Jose Teachers Association; Democratic Activists for Women Now (DAWN); Golden State Manufactured Home Owners League Superchapter S0008; Bay Area Municipal Elections Committee (BAYMEC); Silicon Valley Young Democrats (SVYD); California Women Lead; League of Conservation Voters; The Mercury News; SEIU Healthcare Workers; SEIU Local 521; NorCal Carpenters Union; International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers Local 21; County Employees Management Association; Zoe Lofgren: United States Congressperson (CA:19); Chappie Jones: San Jose Vice Mayor; Sergio Jimenez: San Jose Councilmember; Raul Peralez: San Jose Councilmember; David Cohen: San Jose Councilmember; Magdalena Carrasco: San Jose Councilmember; Dev Davis: San Jose Councilmember; Sylvia Arenas: San Jose Councilmember; Susan Ellenberg: Santa Clara County Supervisor; Cindy Chavez: Santa Clara County Supervisor; Ro Khanna: United States Congressperson (CA:17); Alex Lee: California Assemblymember (AD:25); Jim Beall: Fmr. California State Senator (SD:15); Paul Fong: Fmr. California Assemblymember (AD:28); Kansen Chu: Fmr. California Assemblymember (AD:25); Ken Yeager: Fmr. Santa Clara County Supervisor; Rose Herrera: Fmr. San Jose Vice Mayor; Claudia Rossi: Santa Clara County Board of Education Trustee; Maria Fuentes: San Jose Evergreen Community College District Trustee; Marisa Hanson: Evergreen Elementary School District Trustee; Brian Wheatley: San Jose Unified School District Trustee; Teresa Castellanos: San Jose Unified School District Trustee; Carla Collins: San Jose Unified School District Trustee; Jose Magana: San Jose Unified School District Trustee; Wendi Mahaney-Gurahoo: San Jose Unified School District Trustee; George Sanchez: Franklin-McKinley School District Trustee; Rudy Rodriguez: Franklin-McKinley School District Trustee; Manuel Martinez: Franklin-McKinley School District Trustee; Carolina Herrera-Loera: Alum Rock Unified School District Trustee; Andres Quintero: Alum Rock Unified School District Trustee; Albert Gonzalez: Santa Clara Unified School District Trustee; Julia Miller: El Camino Healthcare District; Cora Tomalinas; Daniel Nguyen; Thuc Do; Daniel Peralta; Patricia McNeil; Mullissa Willette; James Schwab; Marisol Barahona; Orlana Mejia; Victoria Partida; Patricia Tapia; Gia Vega; Charlotte Kimble; Nancy Keo; Denelle Fedor; Martha O’Connell; Ramon Martinez; Rebecca Gallardo; Omar Teutle; Victor Vasquez


1 Official Website
2 City Website
3 LinkedIn
4 Ballotpedia