Monica Montgomery Steppe

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Incumbent


Monica Montgomery Steppe graduated from Spelman College and earned her Juris Doctor from California Western School of Law. She has previously worked at the ACLU of San Diego & Imperial Counties as a Criminal Justice Advocate, and the City of San Diego as a Senior Policy Advisor [3]. In 2018, Steppe was elected to San Diego City Council [1]. Steppe has been a member of several organizations, including the NAACP, the Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association, the San Diego Progressive Democratic Club, and the Black American Political Association of California. She was also a Board Member at the ABC Children’s Foundation, the Bayview Community Development Corporation, and Black Womens’ Institute for Leadership Development, where she was Vice Chair. Additionally, she was an advisory panelist at the San Diego arts and culture commission [7]. Steppe is currently the Council President pro Tem of San Diego [2].

Key Issues


Steppe wants to ensure the functionality of the Office of Race & Equity, increase City contracts to businesses owned by people of color and women, create a Cannabis Equity Fund, and complete the building of the San Diego Energy Equity Campus. She also wants to build the “Earn While You Learn” program and build partnerships to encourage investment in the Black Arts & Culture District to revitalize Imperial Avenue. Steppe also hopes to increase investment in local renewable energy. [3].


Steppe wants to pave dirt roads in underserved communities, build more parks, libraries, and other public spaces, and ensure the Office of Race & Equity invests funds in underserved communities She supports the D4 Green Team and wants to build District 4 up to a similar level of that of communities North of the 8 [3].

Public Safety

Steppe supports the improvement of Code Compliance, funding for new fire stations and first responders, and partnerships with lifeguards. She wants to make sure that the Commission on Police Practices is diverse and funded, to pass the Surveillance Ordinance, end pretext stops, and create more diversion programs, such as the MTS pilot program. [3] She believes that a lack of resources for communities south of interstate 8 has contributed to neighborhood violence [5]. Steppe wants to fund youth programs, remove graffiti, and add street lights in city parks [6].


Steppe wants to address homelessness through public health programs and services [3]. 

Law Enforcement

Steppe has previously sponsored the ProTECT Act which is designed to end pretext stops by police that affect minority groups. [5] Steppe led efforts for San Diego’s Surveillance Ordinance which places greater rules around the use and acquisition of technology capable of monitoring the public [4].


Pearlie Blackmon-Cotton; Xema Jacobson; Lynn Sharpe Underwood; Jean-Huy Tran; Judy Ki; Donell Johnson; Travis Chamberlain; Margaret Dooley; Anne Elliott Kathy Davis; Bonita Weatherford; Skyler Mccurine; Leah Goodwin; James McShane; Dave Myers; Joseph Yorty; Lisa Sparaco; Alyce Pipkin-Allen; Dwayne Crenshaw; Rachel Laing; Tony Alfino; Steven Ward; Kwofi Reed; Art Buangan Elida Chavez; Ardelle & Brian Matthews; Diane Moss; Rogelio Quesada; Leslie Lake; Perri Storey; Kathryn Burton; Melvin Jones Sr; Elena Foster; Lei-Chala Wilson; Cathy Ramsey; Wedad Schlotte; Myeshia Williams; Staci McClanahan Dent; Anita Turner; Sonja Robinson ; David Morrison ; Cecil Steppe; Anjanette Maraya-Ramey; Darwin Fishman; Navarre Perry; Tony Hardy; Brian Polejes; Clarissa Reyes Falcon; Geneviéve Jones-Wright; Beverly Miller; Joyce Heyn Carlette Lewis; Barry Pollard; Rosemary Pope; Karla Ruiz; Evelyn Smith; Jo Ann & Tommy Vance; Assemblymember Chris Ward ; County Board of Supervisors Chair Nathan Fletcher; County Board of Supervisors Vice Chair Nora Vargas; Imperial Beach City Councilmember Paloma Aguirre; Imperial Beach City Councilmember Ed Spriggs; La Mesa City Councilmember Jack Shu; Vice Mayor of National City Jose Rodriguez; National City City Councilmember Marcus Bush; San Diego City Council President Sean Elo-Rivera; San Diego City; Councilmember Vivian Moreno; San Diego City Councilmember Marni Von Wilpert Vice Chair of the California Board of Equalization Mike Schaefer; Former San Diego City Council President Georgette Gomez; San Diego Municipal Employees Association; National Union of Healthcare Workers; San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council; San Diego County Democratic Party; Martin Luther King Jr. Democratic Club; San Diego Progressive Democratic Club; Blue Dream Democrats of San Diego; Eastlake Bonita Democratic Club; San Diego Democrats for Equality; AAPI Democratic Club of San Diego; Spring Valley Lemon Grove Democratic Club; Imperial Beach Democratic Club; San Diego County Young Democrats; San Diego County Democrats for Environmental Action; Sierra Club, San Diego Chapter; League of Conservation Voters, San Diego; SEIU Local  221Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association; Run Women Run; Carpenters Local 619; California Women’s List; YIMBY Democratic Club; Climate Defenders Action Fund


1 Ballotpedia
2 City of San Diego Official Website  
3 Monica Montgomery Steppe for San Diego City Council 
4 Voice of San Diego  
5 PB Monthly  
6 KPBS  
7 LinkedIn