Nathan Fletcher

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election


Nathan Fletcher received a BA in Political Science from California Baptist University in 2000. He serves as Chair of the San Diego County Board of Supervisors. Fletcher formerly served in the United States Marine Corps. He has also served as a California State Assemblyman, 75th District, worked with Qualcomm as a strategist, and as a professor at the University of California, San Diego.

With his posts on the California Air Resources Board, the Board of Supervisors, and as Chair of the Metropolitan Transit Agency, he hopes to tackle climate change. He is an advocate for behavioral health services and environmental justice [3]. Assemblyman Fletcher and his wife, Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher, live with their five children in the City Heights community of San Diego [1].

Key Issues


Fletcher wants to see more affordable housing in San Diego communities. He supports funds allocated towards creating permanent housing for individuals who are homeless and suffering from mental health issues, encourages the development of excess countyowned land into housing, and hopes to allow affordable housing developers to use county money to leverage funds and increase the construction of affordable housing units in the county [1].


Fletcher hopes to make the transit system more connected. He wants to create a more efficient form of transport to cut the time for commuters[1]. Veterans: Fletcher wants to implement supportive housing, nutrition, and medical programs and increase staffing for veterans. Fletcher hopes to create veteran housing programs and create new county positions to support veterans [1]. 


Fletcher hopes to help immigrants by introducing bipartisan solutions to address the migrant crisis in San Diego. He wants to implement supportive housing, nutrition, and medical programs and increase staffing for immigrants.

Public Safety

Fletcher wants regional cooperation amongst first responders and local governments, pushes to fortify existing technologies, and innovate new technologies [1].


Fletcher wants to address environmental injustices for disadvantaged communities. Fletcher supports community choice energy programs to provide renewable energy, developing and implementing a climate action plan that complies with state law, and increasing the use of energy-efficient transportation [1].


Fletcher hopes to work with the Child and Family Strengthening Advisory Board to create a responsive system to ensure the safety of children so that they don’t have to face outcomes such as mental health, chronic illness, and low life potential [1].


San Diego and Imperial Counties Building Trades Council; SEIU Local 221; United Domestic Workers of America, AFSCME Local 3930, AFL-CIO; Public Defender Association of San Diego County; National Union of Healthcare Workers; UNITE HERE Local 30; IBEW 569; Sierra Club; Planned Parenthood Action Fund of the Pacific Southwest; United Association of Plumbers, Steamfitters & HVAC/R Local 230; Laborers’ International Union Local 89; San Diego Union Carpenters Local 619; CAL FIRE Local 2881; San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce; National Electrical Contractors Association; Teamsters Joint Council 42; United of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipefitting Industry; Deputy Sheriffs’ Association of San Diego; San Diego County Probation Officers Association; San Diego Deputy District Attorneys Association; San Diego District Attorney Investigators Association; San Diegans Agains Crime; San Diego County Democrats for Environmental Action; San Diego Labor Democratic Club; AAPI Democratic Club of San Diego; San Diego County Young Democrats; Blue Dream Democratic Club; Democratic Women’s Club of San Diego; League of Conservation Voters; Torrey Pines Democratic Club; Hon. Juan Vargas. United States Congressmember; Hon. Mike Levin, United States Congressmember; Hon. Scott Peters, United States Congressmember; Hon. Toni Atkins, State Senate President Pro Tem, Hon. Dr. Shirley Weber, California Secretary of State; Hon. Chris Kehoe, California State Senator (ret.); Hon. Brian Maienshein, California 77th District Assemblymember; Hon. Tasha Boerner Horvath, California 76th District Assemblymember; Hon. Chris Ward, California 78th District Assemblymember; Hon. Akilah Weber, California 79th District Assemblymember; Hon. Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher, California 80th District Former Assemblymember; Hon. Rob Bonta, California Attorney General; Hon. Tony Thurmond, State Superintendent of Public Instruction; Hon. Ricardo Lara, California Insurance Commissioner; Hon. Betty T. Yee, California State Controller; Hon. Terra Lawson-Remer, San Diego County Supervisor; Hon. Joe LaCava, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Jen Campbell, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Stephen Whitburn, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Monica Montgomery, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Marni von Wilpert, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Raul Campillo, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Vivian Moreno, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Sean Elo-Rivera, San Diego City Councilmember; Hon. Georgette Gómez, Former San Diego City Council President; Hon. Mara Elliott, San Diego City Attorney; Hon. Mary Casillas Salas, Chula Vista Mayor; Hon. Steve Padilla, Chula Vista City Councilmember; Hon. Serge Dedina, Imperial Beach Mayor, Hon. Paloma Aguirre; Imperial Beach City Councilmember; Hon. Catherine Blakespeare, Encinitas Mayor; Hon. Kellie Shay-Hinze, Encinitas City Councilmember; Hon. Alejandra Sotela Solis, National City Mayor; Hon. Paul McNamara, Escondido Mayor; Hon. Esther Sanchez, Oceanside Mayor; Hon. Colin Parent, La Mesa City Councilmember; Hon. Cori Schumacher, Former Carlsbad City Councilmember; Hon. Whitney Benzian, Former Coronado City Councilmember; Hon. Mary Graham, San Diego Community College District Trustee; Hon. Bernie Rhinerson, San Diego Community College District Trustee; Hon. Maria Senour, San Diego Community College District Trustee; Hon. Richard Barrera, San Diego Unified School District Board Member; Hon. Michael McQuarry, San Diego Unified School District Board Member


1 Chair Nathan Fletcher
2 Nathan Fletcher County Supervisor
3 LinkedIn