Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson

Key Facts

Party N/A; nonpartisan election
Status Challenger


Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson grew up in the Texas Hill Country. She has a Ph.D. in Neuroscience from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. Boyd-Hodgson has worked as a consultant and medical writer, as well as being elected to the Vallecitos Water District Board in 2020 [2]. She has volunteered with organizations to help survivors of domestic violence and human trafficking. Boyd-Hodgson is also a small business owner living in San Marcos [1]. 

Key Issues


Boyd-Hodgson supports more public transportation, including the use of electric buses for schools [2].


Boyd-Hodgson supports reducing homelessness, particularly preventing it in the first place. She supports measures such as creating housing near transit, improving job opportunities and creating incentives for the construction of affordable housing [2].


Boyd-Hodgson supports reducing the effects of climate change by protecting coastlines from erosion, preserving inland areas from overdevelopment and by providing firefighters with adequate tools and resources [1]. 

Gun Policy

Boyd-Hodgson supports responsible gun ownership for citizens [1].

Reproductive Rights

Boyd-Hodgson supports reproductive rights and abortion for women [1].


Mike Levin, United States Congressmember; Scott Peters, United States Congressmember; Toni G. Atkins, CA Senate pro Tempore; Tasha Boerner Horvath, California Assemblymember; Chris Ward, California Assemblymember; Paul “Mac” McNamara, Escondido Mayor; Catherine Blakespear, Encinitas Mayor; Alejandra Sotelo-Solis, National City Mayor; Dwight Worden, Del Mar Mayor; Lesa Heebner, Solana Beach Mayor; Raul Campillo, San Diego Councilmember; Stephen Whitburn, San Diego Councilmember; Marni von Wilpert, San Diego Councilmember; Joe LaCava, San Diego Councilmember; Randy Walton, San Marcos City Councilmember; Joe Mosca, Encinitas City Councilmember; Dr. Priya Bhat-Patel, Carlsbad City Councilmember; Marcus Bush, National City Councilmember; Kellie Hinze, Encinitas City Councilmember; Barbara Bry, Fmr San Diego City Councilmember; Dr. Lisa Shaffer, Former Encinitas City Councilmember; Carl Wood, Former California Public Utilities Commissioner; Roberto Rodriguez, Palomar College Governing Board Vice President; Eric Joyce, Oceanside Unified School Board Trustee; Jeff Ekgan, North County Fire Protection District President; Cipriano Vargas, Vista Unified School Board President; Sarah Ahmad, San Marcos Unified School District Trustee; Diane Summers, Fallbrook Union High School District Vice President; Jeff Griffith, Palomar Health District Director & Retired Fire Captain; Kate Schwartz, Fallbrook Regional Health District Director; Dr. Nina Chaya, Tri City Healthcare District Director; Georgine Tomasi, Escondido Union School District President; Ross L. Pike, Fallbrook Community Planning Group Member; Oscar Caralampio, Fallbrook Union High School District Trustee; Suzanne Lundin, Fallbrook Union Elementary School District President; Cindy Acosta, North County Fire Protection District Vice President; Mark Gracyk, Helix Water District Director; Craig Milgrim, San Diego Community College District Director; Dr. Darshana Patel, Poway Unified School Board Trustee; Mark Mervich, Fallbrook Community Planning Group Member; Michele McCaffery, Fallbrook Community Planning Group Member; Anna Strahan, Fallbrook Community Planning Group Member; San Diego County Democratic Party, Local 4107 Vista Firefighters Association, Local 1622 Fallbrook Firefighters Association, Sierra Club, San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council, San Diego County’s Building Trades Unions, SDIC IBEW Local 569, Teamsters Local Council 42, Local 221 SEIU, Moms Demand Action, Local 30 San Diego, Climate Defenders Action Fund, 314 Action Fund, Everytown for Gun Safety, League of Conservation Voters San Diego, Hammond Climate Solutions, Run Women Run, Moms in Office, Escondido Democratic Club, San Diego Labor Democratic Club, Veterans Democratic Club San Diego, Democratic Club of Carlsbad Oceanside, San Diego County Democrats for Environmental Action, San Diego Democrats for Equality, San Marcos Democrats, Torrey Pines Democratic Club, Poway Democratic Club, Hidden Valley Democratic Club, Encinitas and North Coast Democratic Club, Fallbrook Democratic Club, Democratic Women’s Club of San Diego County, Asian American Pacific Islander Democratic Club San Diego, Oceanside Democratic Club, San Diego Progressive Club, YIMBY Democrats San Diego, Oak Tree Democratic Club, Democrats San Diego County, Democratic Club of Vista, NCYD, San Diego Downtown Democratic Club, La Jolla Democratic Club, Wendy Wheatcroft, Gun Violence Prevention Advocate; Dr. Rebecca Fielding-Miller, Epidemiologist, UCSD; Judy Ki, AAPI Community Advocate; Heather Conklin, Conservation Advocate, Oceanside; Sarah Spinks, Community Organizer, Nonprofit Founder, Vista; John Van Doorn, Public Safety Advocate, Fallbrook; Alan Geraci, Community Leader, San Marcos; Nikki Faddick, Gun Violence Prevention Advocate; Mike Bullock, Climate Activist & Community Leader, Oceanside; Hilary Devrome, Public Education Advocate, San Marcos; Stephanie Sylver Saavedra, Tribal Youth Advocate, San Marcos; Rachel White, Community Leader, Oceanside; Kellie Davis, Community Leader, Small Business Owner, Oceanside; Rachel Arbuckle, Navy Veteran & Small Business Owner, San Marcos; Shawn VanDiver, Navy Veteran & Founder of “Afghan Evac”; Janessa Goldbeck, Marine Veteran & Community Leader; M. Ron Cohen, Veterans Caucus Chair, California Democratic Party; Ann Crosbie, Children’s Caucus Chair, California Democratic Party; Venus Johnson, Community Leader, Oceanside; Joan Bullock, Community Leader, Oceanside; Neil Kramer, Disability Rights Advocate, San Marcos; Damon Gidner, Teacher & Labor Leader, San Marcos; Sandra May Greefkes, Public Education Advocate, San Marcos, Angela DeJoseph, Senior Field Representative, CA State Legislature; Jennifer Esteen, RN, Labor Leader, and Public Health Advocate; Jennifer Ianoale, Public Health Advocate, Vista; Edward Philbrick, San Marcos; Michael Goodrich, Fallbrook; Yvonne Elkin; Madeleine Morales, Oceanside; Dr. David Golman, Encinitas; Nanci Oechsle, Vista; Pam Albergo, Escondido; Betty Ball, San Marcos; Gayle Martin; Dennis Randall, Carlsbad; Gary Hansen, San Marcos; Narima Lopes, Carlsbad; Patrick Benesh-Liu, San Marcos; Erica A. Stewart; Gerald Sandoval, Escondido; Derek Casady; Leo Conboy, San Marcos; David Milroy; Curtis Morrison, Fallbrook; Jennifer Spengler, San Marcos; Scott Roleson; Michael Markie, Vista; Paul McEneany; Michael Lucas, Fallbrook; Dr. Allan Goetz; Sandra Lang, Escondido; Carolynn M. Mueller; Pamela Bland, San Marcos; Octavio Aguilar; David Trautman, Carlsbad; Nancy Casady; Mary Borevitz, San Marcos; Lori Van Orden; David Wright; Sharon Cox; Phyllis Hauptfeld, Bonita; Chet Chebegia, San Marcos; Ken Dalpe, Oceanside; Danny Jackson; Ellen Blakesborough, Escondido; Douglas W. Gastelum, Fallbrook; Adele Josepho; Sonja Olson, San Marcos; Barbara Mead, Carlsbad; Dr. Matthew Ceppi, San Marcos; Alyce Pipkin-Allen; Cherryl Baker, San Marcos; William Jaynes; Dr. Raissa White; Alex Scheingross; Doris Payne, San Marcos; Deborah McDaniel-Lindsey; Carl Crider, San Marcos


1 Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson Website

2 San Diego Tribune  

3 Ballotpedia